Tiger Woods picks himself for Presidents Cup squad

Tiger Woods isn’t just the captain, he’s also a teammate.

The highly decorated golfer made his picks for the American side of 2019 Presidents Cup on Thursday, adding Patrick Reed, Tony Finau and Gary Woodland in addition to himself.

Woods will be the first playing captain on a Presidents Cup team in 25 years.

Brooks Koepka, Dustin Johnson, Justin Thomas, Xander Schauffele, Bryson DeChambeau, Patrick Cantlay, Webb Simpson and Matt Kuchar all earned automatic spots as the top point-getting Americans.

Woods and his team will take one Ernie Els’ international team consisting of Hideki Matsuyama, Adam Scott, Louis Oosthuizen, Marc Leishman, Abraham Ancer, Haotong Li, C.T. Pan and Cameron Smith with Joaquin Niemann, Sungjae Im, Jason Day and Adam Hadwin being Els’ picks.

The Presidents Cup will take place at the Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Victoia, Australia from Dec. 12-15. The United States’ entry has won the biannual tournament 10 of 12 times, with the sides tying in 2003.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.